Opening hours, address and telephone number

Open today from 13:00 until 16:00

Opening hours next week
Day Opening hours
Mon - Wed Closed
Thu - Sat 13:00 - 16:00
Overview of opening hours
Jan van Steffeswertplein 1
6107 BZ Stevensweert
Plan route Plan route

0475 - 55 02 36

Vooraanzicht van het gemeentehuis waarin Streekmuseum Stevensweert is gevestigd
Streekmuseum Stevensweert is gevestigd in het gemeentehuis van Stevensweert
Jonge bezoekers kijken rond in het museum
Ontdek de historie van Stevensweert en Ohé en Laak

Stevensweert and Ohé en Laak are situated on an island in the Meuse. This unique location has shaped the history of both villages. Streekmuseum Stevensweert en Ohé en Laak tells their story.

Two villages

The permanent exhibition starts with a film about the history of the two villages for which the museum is named. The museum displays interesting objects that have been dredged up, including the Kantharos of Stevensweert. The Stevensweert castle and sculptor Jan van Steffeswert bring the Late Middle Ages to life.

The Spanish

Due to its strategic location, the island in the Meuse was captured by the Spanish in 1632 and turned into a fortress with a circular street plan. A scale model of the fortification illustrates this. After a siege in 1702, the fortress was captured by the Dutch Republic. Discover the former Walburg castle through a scale model, archaeological finds, paintings and furniture.


Netherlands Museum Pass valid

Would you like to purchase a Netherlands Museum Pass?


  • Rolstoeltoegankelijk
  • Parkeergelegenheid voor auto's
  • Museumwinkel
More information on the museum website

Discover more